A New Thing

“A new thing,” He tells me.

“LALALALALALA” I yell as I plug my ears.

“I have bigger plans that require change.” He holds out His hands to guide me.

I turn my face away, pretending I don’t notice.

He closes some doors, He opens others.

I remain at the shut doors, choosing to bang my head against them rather than move to the newly opened ones.

.   .   .   .   .

God has been calling out to me, telling me to “Forget the former things; do not dwell on the past. See, I am doing a new thing! Now it springs up; do you not perceive it? I am making a way in the wilderness and streams in the wasteland” (Isaiah 43:18-19 NIV). In hindsight, I have been oblivious for so long, only recently hearing and obeying His call. But what about that time where He was coming to me in the quiet whisper? My inattention to God’s movements left me in disobedience during that time. But He does not reject me, He does not give up on me. He pursues me still.

And what about when I doubted Jehovah Jireh’s provision? When I finally hear His call but don’t trust in my Sovereign God’s immutable character? He continues to guide me, reminding me that “I will instruct you and teach you in the way you should go; I will counsel you with My loving eye on you” (Psalm 32:8). Persistent in His grace, God reveals His trustworthiness to my unfaithful heart.

The Lord spoke to me as I prayed about difficult decisions regarding commitments, my job, and how I spend my time. Though I prayed for guidance I held a heart reluctant to change, but Christ who reigns in my heart and mind empowered me to cast aside the doubt that characterized my old self.

So as I sat in a chapel service while I was visiting a women’s recovery home and watched those who were once broken beyond recognition being restored into wholeness and praising the Lord who orchestrated that change, I was reminded of my unfinished and, therefore, weak faith. But I am encouraged as I read the verses He gave me, and I know that the Holy Spirit who lives and works in me is faithful to empower me so I can choose to be sanctified into Christ’s likeness.

So folks, we can learn a few things from this. First of all, listen. I’m serious, right now take your mind off of your life, your surroundings, yourself. Is the God of the universe trying to tell you something? Where has he been working and moving in your life and what does that mean for you?

Secondly, don’t hear and doubt, hear and trust. Trust Him who is perfectly faithful in every way.

And finally, change. When God says move, move. When he says stay, stay. He’s God, so I promise you He knows better than any of us do.

Hear Him, trust Him, and obey Him.

Because it’s a scary thing when God says He has a new thing and you choose to remain in the old.

 

Still overcoming,

Hannah

2 thoughts on “A New Thing

  1. =D =D

    This post made me laugh and cry at the same time, because it’s soooo true. It’s entirely relatable. Every little bit of it. I know exactly the place it’s written from, because I’ve been in it myself!

    But we must seek that to which He has called us! And surely, He will continue to do new things when we follow the sound of His voice.

    “My sheep know my voice.”

    Like

Comments are closed.